Tegan Corrynne

Dear Tegan,

I’m writing to you on a beautiful, sunny Wednesday in May. It’s a special day. In fact, on this day three years ago, the world got a little bit brighter.

Today is your birthday.

dad 3

As I sit here and reflect this morning on what the past three years have been like, my entire body is flooded with emotions that I can’t even comprehend. The moment I found out I was going to be your mother, my whole world shifted.  I thought I would never feel that kind of fear and excited ever again… and then I got to hold you for the first time and I felt it wash all over me again, expect it was way more intense the second time around.

180277_337947436282192_907083089_n
Life with you has been more fun, challenging and rewarding than I ever thought possible. The moment I heard your heart beat for the first time, I was reminded of how amazing life is. The first time I saw you, you were a blob, with a tiny flickering heart beat up on a screen- and as I sat there in amazement, dreaming of what life was going to be like once you got here, I  could have never imagined this beautiful, hysterical, blue eyed baby doll that you are.
252711_337952072948395_1510654121_n
We’ve had so many adventures since you came into our lives. We’ve put in a lot of sleepless nights, kissed a lot of boo boos, changed a lot of diapers, and wiped plenty of tears. But on the flip side, we’ve heard a lot of giggles, watched you learn to walk, talk, go to the big girl potty, dress and feed yourself…
399329_4646319688126_641084141_n
I adore your love for life. You want to pick every flower because you think flowers are the most beautiful creation ever. You remind me to thank Jesus for bringing the sun out each morning. You remind me that it’s not nice to use a mean voice, but to be gentle with my words. You want to make sure the bird feeder is always full so every bird gets to eat. You want to give Gypsy a hug and kiss every time you leave her. And when I’m sad, you somehow see it past my smile, and always make sure I get extra kisses. You’re thoughtful, and kind. You’re a spitfire full of energy, and you never fail to make me laugh. You know you’re pretty, and you’re such a ham. You love to be the center of attention- but that’s okay, because you always put on a great show. You light up a room with your smile- which you’re rarely without and the way you laugh until you can’t seem to catch your breath gets me every time.
47009_10200157679496854_1946117336_n
You truly are my favorite person. No one compares. You’ve taught me so much about life. You make me strive to be a better person. You love me no matter what. I am so thankful that I was chosen to be your mom- there is no greater honor. Thank you for being you. You’re the biggest blessing I’ve ever received and I just don’t have the words for how blessed I am to have you.
1907702_511076942357739_1278677804802561901_n
I could keep going, but the point is- I love you and time just slips away when we’re with you. Another year has come to pass, and I have an adorable three year old today. Mommy and Daddy love you so much.
tegan growing lineHappy Birthday, Tegan Corrynne!!

love,
Mommy

11265227_686798154785616_4797329958200536137_n

A special thanks to Bang Images for capturing all of the special moments in our family’s life.

One thought on “Tegan Corrynne

  1. Anonymous

    Ashley~ Spoken like a true Mom. Tegan is very Blessed to have you and Toby and her parents. We are also Blessed to be part of your family. We love you! Happy Birthday Tegan~

    Like

Leave a Reply

