June Yoga Challenge Week Three

Happy Monday little beauties!

If you are returning for Week Three, I welcome you back and thank you for continuing to read and if you’re just now checking this out, you can always look back to see weeks One and Two– but whatever the case, I am glad you’re taking time out of your day to read my words. (:

So as we dive into Week Three (can’t believe June is going by so quickly) I am already seeing more and more ways I can improve this little series, but I will just continue to follow the same set up as I have, and tweak it for next time.

Week Three: June 15, 2015

The Angel Card pulled for this week is: Let Your Past Go 

week3
Let Your Past Go
“The burden of carting your past around has made you weary, Dear One. It’s time to set this burden down. Keep only the lessons and the love, and leave everything else behind. You don’t want it or need it, and it’s now gone.”

I think everyone can benefit from this card. We all face struggles of our past everyday because our past gains a new chapter with every morning that we wake up to- so it’s only natural for us to be in constant battles with our past. (Humans are notorious for second guessing themselves.)

For me, having my daughter really gave me strength on being able to let go and move on. When I first found out I was pregnant, I lost a lot of people in my life, and that lead to feelings of bitterness and anger during one of the most magical times of life. I quickly realized that it was no way to live and by focusing on what had happened, I was missing out on so much that was happening. Sometimes I still have to remind myself that whatever has happened is done. That moment has passed, I can’t go back to it, change it, or remove it- so except that what will be, will be and have peace that it will all work out.

The pose I’d like to focus on this week is: Balasana or Childs Pose

week3pose

I chose to focus on this pose because everyone can do it, just like everyone can benefit from our card this week. I wanted to choose a pose that was simple, but restorative and beneficial. I love child’s pose because I feel it’s a little reward during a class generally following a more intense flow. To me it’s a small symbolic gesture of life. When you finish up with a difficult flow, and you know a moment of rest is coming…and in that moment to find your breath, you become grounded at the knees, and you can feel the rise and fall of your chest pressing into your thighs, head rested, simple and joyful- you know you’ve made it through, much like life. It’s a simple pose I am probably putting to much thought into, but it’s one I love.

As usual, I have included a video to help guide you through it. If you haven’t noticed, I have chosen a different instructor each week. This is purposely done so you can have an opportunity to find an online instructor for when you want to practice with the convenience of YouTube!

If you’re keeping up with this, take a picture of your Child’s Pose and share it with me on Instagram or leave it in the comment section!

Let me know what poses help you let go of the past!

Namaste

Leave a Reply

